McCarty Returns to Hickory Winner’s Circle, While Kvapil Picks up First Career CARS Tour Win

Mooresville, NC 3/21/21 – In a pair of incredibly close finishes Saturday night, Bobby McCarty returned to Edelbrock Victory Lane in the Late Model Stock division, while young Carson Kvapil scored his first career CARS Super Late Model Tour win.


Kvapil scored the MAHLE Pole Award but settled into the second position behind a fast Matt Craig for 99 of the 100 laps before using a slightly better turning car through the center of the turns to sweep under Matt Craig for the photo finish win.


It was Kvapil’s first career series win in just his eleventh start, and with the win in the season opening event for the Super Late Models becomes the points leader.


Ryan Moore finished third over Florida driver T.J. Duke in fourth and Garret Hall, from Maine, rounded out the top five.


MTP Tire 250 presented by Cloer Construction

Hickory Motor Speedway – Hickory, NC

March 20, 2021


Super Late Models Unofficial Finish


  1. #35 Carson Kvapil
  2. #54 Matt Craig
  3. #74 Ryan Moore
  4. #28 TJ Duke
  5. #94X Garrett Hall
  6. #7C Justin Crider
  7. #4ME Ben Rowe
  8. #11 Michael Ritch
  9. #49 Jeff Batten
  10. #21 Jacob Perry
  11. #15 Mike Hopkins
  12. #7 Jeremy Barclay
  13. #45 Kodie Conner
  14. #6 Brandon Setzer



Photo finishes continued on into the Late Model Stock 150 lap feature event with veteran Bobby McCarty just edging Tyler Matthews at the line by .025 seconds.


Layne Riggs led the field to the green flag but it was McCarty who paced the field for the first fifteen laps. Riggs would briefly lead the field, as would Matthews and former Hickory winner Deac McCaskill, before Mike Looney would set sail away from the rest of the field on lap 65.


Looney looked to be the cream of the crop until the lapped car of Jonathan Shafer slide up the track destroying the nose of Looney’s #87 machine. With the good fortune McCarty inherited the lead with just forty laps remaining.


With McCarty out front it was Matthews who started chasing down the top position, but it appeared to be too little too late as the laps wound down. That all changed with a crash between Jessican Cann and Jack Wood with three laps to go.


The three lap shootout was one for the history books with McCarty and Matthews crossing the finish line side-by-side with just slight contact. For McCarty it was his third career win at the .363 mile track.


Rookie Sam Butler finished third, followed by veteran Deac McCaskill in fourth, and Daniel Silvestri rounded out the top five.


MTP Tire 250 presented by Cloer Construction

Hickory Motor Speedway – Hickory, NC

March 20, 2021


Late Model Stock Cars Unofficial Finish


  1. #22 Bobby McCarty
  2. #41 Tyler Matthews
  3. #81B Sam Butler
  4. #08 Deac McCaskill
  5. #97 Daniel Silvestri
  6. #4 Jonathan Findley
  7. #81 Mini Tyrrell
  8. #88 William Cox III
  9. #4H Kaden Honeycutt
  10. #44 Justin Johnson
  11. #14 Jared Fryar
  12. #2 Brandon Pierce
  13. #87 Mike Looney
  14. #57 Justin Carroll
  15. #17 Joe Valento
  16. #95 Sam Yarbrough
  17. #91 Jonathan Shafer
  18. #99 Layne Riggs
  19. #07 Chase Dixon
  20. #21 Jack Wood
  21. #19 Jessica Cann
  22. #24 Mason Diaz
  23. #14J Connor Jones
  24. #2L Matt Leicht


For additional information on the CARS Late Model Stock Tour and the CARS Super Late Model Tour visit Be sure to stay active and social with the tour by liking “CARS Tour” on Facebook, following @CARSTour on Twitter, and scrolling through photos on Instagram cars_tour. Additional series information can be obtained by calling the CARS Tour series office, located in Mooresville, NC, at 704.662.9212.