Layne Riggs Dominates a Rough Race at Ace

Mooresville, NC 5/7/21 – Bahama, North Carolina CARS Tour regular Layne Riggs dominated Friday night’s running of The Race at Ace 125 at Ace Speedway. Riggs bested Bobby McCarty who started the race from the pole position, followed by Justin Johnson in the third position.


Riggs won by .907 seconds and led the entire 125 lap event with the exception of a lap 89 restart that allowed McCarty to pick up an additional championship bonus point for leading a lap.


Riggs’ car may have been the only machine that didn’t have damage after a caution filled event collected a majority of the field at one point or another.


While the top three finishers may have left the speedway happy, multiple drivers left feeling disappointed and frustrated with their follow competitors.


One of those was Deac McCaskill who entered Friday night’s race one point behind championship leader Bobby McCarty. McCaskill was caught up in a lap 88 incident between rookies Kaden Honeycutt and Joe Valento that ended the veteran’s night early and will drop him down in the standings.


Rounding out the top five was Jared Fryar, who came from deep in the field to score the fourth place result, and Jonathan Shafer, with his best showing of the 2021 campaign.


For additional information on the CARS Late Model Stock Tour and the CARS Super Late Model Tour visit Be sure to stay active and social with the tour by liking “CARS Tour” on Facebook, following @CARSTour on Twitter, and scrolling through photos on Instagram cars_tour. Additional series information can be obtained by calling the CARS Tour series office, located in Mooresville, NC, at 704.662.9212.


The Race at Ace 125

Ace Speedway – Elon, NC

May 7, 2021

Late Model Stock Car Unofficial Finish


  1. #99 Layne Riggs
  2. #22 Bobby McCarty
  3. #44 Justin Johnson
  4. #14 Jared Fryar
  5. #91 Jonathan Shafer
  6. #81B Sam Butler
  7. #4H Kaden Honeycutt
  8. #2 Brandon Pierce
  9. #17 Joe Valento
  10. #4 Jonathan Findley
  11. #95 Sam Yarbrough
  12. #7 Dylan Ward
  13. #97 Daniel Silvestri
  14. #08 Deac McCaskill
  15. #77 Trevor Ward
  16. #24 Mason Diaz
  17. #14J Connor Jones
  18. #88 William Cox III
  19. #81 Mini Tyrrell