Familiar Names in Matt Craig and Josh Berry Both Return to Throwback 276 Victory Lane at Hickory

Mooresville, NC 7/31/21 – In front of a big crowd two drivers who had previously won Throwback 276 CARS Tour events, took advantage of the opportunity to return to Edelbrock Victory Lane once again Saturday night scoring their second Throwback 276 victories.


Matt Craig made it back-to-back Throwback 276 Super Late Model wins after winning the 2019 edition (2020 not held due to COVID-19). While Josh Berry returned to the winner’s circle in the Late Model Stock Car division having won the event in 2018.


Super Late Model Recap


Matt Craig made the finish look easy to score his first win of the 2021 season, but it took hard work during the early portion of the race to score the victory. Chandler Smith, on a weekend off from the NASCAR Truck Series, finished second, with Bubba Pollard rounding out the podium with his third place finish.


Carson Kvapil led during the event’s early portion of the race before a competition caution restart allowed Craig to take over the lead position. From that point Craig marched away from the rest of the field by over ten car lengths.


That left Bubba Pollard and Chandler Smith battling for the opportunity to chase down Craig. Smith would preview over Pollard and did all he could to chase down Matt Craig but to no avail.


Kvapil would eventually settled for the fourth position, over Kyle Plott who rounded out the top five at the checkered flag.


Late Model Stock Car Recap


Despite multiple late race restarts in the final ten laps Josh Berry was able to hold off an aggressive Mason Diaz to score his second career CARS Late Model Stock Car Throwback 276 victory.


Diaz gave Berry multiple shots to his rear bumper but could not get Berry to flinch on his lead position. It was Diaz who started the race as the early leader, with Berry falling back to sixth position.


Competition cautions allowed the field to bunch up and gave the opportunity to Mini Tyrrell to take the lead. Tyrrell led the majority of the middle portion of the event before Berry took back command of the top spot.


That was the invite Berry needed to hold on to his second win of the season in just his third serious start of the 2021 season. Diaz held on to finish second scoring his best career CARS Late Model Stock Car Tour finish. Veteran Sam Yarbrough ran in the top five all night before crossing the line in third for his best run of the 2021 season.


Tyrrell finished in the fourth position posting his first top five finish of the 2021 campaign, and defending series champion Jared Fryar rounded out the top five finishers.


For additional information on the CARS Late Model Stock Tour and the CARS Super Late Model Tour visit Be sure to stay active and social with the tour by liking “CARS Tour” on Facebook, following @CARSTour on Twitter, and scrolling through photos on Instagram cars_tour. Additional series information can be obtained by calling the CARS Tour series office, located in Mooresville, NC, at 704.662.9212.


Honeywell Home “Throwback 276” pres. by Bake Distributing

Hickory Motor Speedway – Hickory, NC

July 31, 2021


Super Late Model Unofficial Finish


  1. #54 Matt Craig
  2. #24 Chandler Smith
  3. #26 Bubba Pollard
  4. #35 Carson Kvapil
  5. #4 Kyle Plott
  6. #6 Brandon Setzer
  7. #27 Lee Tissot
  8. #11 Michael Ritch
  9. #8 Daniel Webster
  10. #49 Jeff Batten
  11. #7 Justin Crider
  12. #7C Tyler Church


Honeywell Home “Throwback 276” pres. by Bake Distributing

Hickory Motor Speedway – Hickory, NC

July 31, 2021


Late Model Stock Car Unofficial Finish


  1. #8 Josh Berry
  2. #11D Mason Diaz
  3. #95 Sam Yarbrough
  4. #7 Mini Tyrrell
  5. #14 Jared Fryar
  6. #07 Bobby McCarty
  7. #92 Kaden Honeycutt
  8. #8B Sam Butler
  9. #01 Connor Jones
  10. #49M Deac McCaskill
  11. #25 Jonathan Shafer
  12. #14M Craig Moore
  13. #8J Justin Johnson
  14. #41 Jonathan Findley
  15. #11 Layne Riggs
  16. #87 Mike Looney
  17. #49 Brandon Pierce
  18. #5 Connor Mosack
  19. #40 Tyler Matthews
  20. #75 Landon Huffman
  21. #17 Joe Valento
  22. #6 Mike Darne
  23. #6W Mitch Walker
  24. #97 Daniel Silvestri
  25. #4 Bubba Pollard
  26. #15 Ryan Millington
  27. #22P Timothy Peters
  28. #07D Chase Dixon
  29. #21 Zane Smith